When Disorders Collide

What happens when your ADD collides with your child’s ADHD?  Now, I just have problems staying focused on one thing for long periods of time and I can tend to have a bunch of projects going at one time.  My youngest has the same problem, but then you have to add in hyperactivity.  This energy is great when competing in gymnastics, but not so welcome when she has to write a paper. I’m also what’s called a ‘visual learner’; I learn by what I take in visually.  The problem with that is disorder is REALLY annoying to me, and a nine year old with ADHD probably has a messier room than college boys after a keg party.  I always seemed to be annoyed and snapping at her because of this.  She can’t help how she is anymore than I can, but we’ve got to coexist in this house.  You’d think someone who just graduated with a Masters in counseling could figure this one out, but it’s a different animal when you become the client.

About shybugemmie

Kevin Ann Planchet is a counselor in the Big Easy who enjoys working with children. She specializes in ADHD and the emotional issues which come with the disorder. Planchet is currently pursuing her doctorate and writing a series of ebooks on emotional and behavioral issues which affect kids called "Mom's Ten Tips".

Leave a Reply

