I’m finally catching my breath.

Just as I was formulating marketing plans for my new children’s book, “Shybug”, I landed my first job in the counseling field.  So everything went on the back burner to adjust to my new responsibilities.  With a caseload of ten clients now, I see adolescent behaviors which are at the same time familiar because I have children and unexpected as I work to help these kids handle all sorts of issues.  Drawing out quiet children is always a challenge and this is where games and creativity can help.  Going at kids directly and asking a lot of questions only gets you a sullen kid who keeps wondering why you keep asking so many silly questions.  Over a game of “Sorry”  or “Subway Surf” (yes, my Ipad has become key in some sessions) the walls of resistance begin to come down and information starts to leak out like air from a pin-pricked balloon.  Parents could take a hint.  Sometimes you have to let the kids come to you.

About shybugemmie

Kevin Ann Planchet is a counselor in the Big Easy who enjoys working with children. She specializes in ADHD and the emotional issues which come with the disorder. Planchet is currently pursuing her doctorate and writing a series of ebooks on emotional and behavioral issues which affect kids called "Mom's Ten Tips".

2 responses »

  1. Though I haven’t got the previlige to be parent but I’m old enough to help my parents handling my younger brothers, they are twins and so naughty, so in some way this little worth-reading piece of yours helped me a lot. Thank you for sharing. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

