So this is fifth grade?

As I look at my 10 year old take those first intrepid steps into the fifth grade, I’m already shocked at how much older she seems than my older daughters at this stage.  So far she’s had more male friends who she actually invites to the house to swim.  She’s a nationally ranked acro gymnast who’s just been named to the U.S. National team and she is the least impressed by this accomplishment.  Fourth grade was a little rocky as she tried to navigate the social scene and ran into a couple of speed bumps, but she ended strong.  I just look at her now and wonder if she is really more mature than fifth graders ten years ago or do I just look at her differently because I’m older and less uptight?  I’ll consider that as I fly to Germany with her in December to represent the United States at a gymnastics competition.

About shybugemmie

Kevin Ann Planchet is a counselor in the Big Easy who enjoys working with children. She specializes in ADHD and the emotional issues which come with the disorder. Planchet is currently pursuing her doctorate and writing a series of ebooks on emotional and behavioral issues which affect kids called "Mom's Ten Tips".

Leave a Reply

